Skip to content

Fried Cinnamon Sugar Tortillas

August 17, 2011

 

Hard as it may seem to believe, there are times when I feel a little sorry for my gluten-free self.  Generally not sorry enough to indulge in a batch of chocolate chip cookies, but sorry enough to pout and rattle around the kitchen for a while until I can figure something to eat that won’t leave me feeling deprived.

These little corn tortillas jobbies are something I made up last week when the rest of my family was living it on up … well I don’t remember what … but it involved gluten and I wanted some.  I think they deserve a far more clever name – they have one already, I’m sure – so if you know it, please tell me!  Beyond the fact that they are delicious, they get bonus points because they’re made out of regular ingredients that you may already have in your kitchen.  I love to try new ingredients, but I get a big kick out of making something new and exciting out of ingredients that I’ve already got!

Anyways — these are amazingly good when they’re still warm and fresh.  They’re extra good with vanilla ice cream and dulce de leche.  Or hot fudge.  Or both, right?  Really, really good.  I  fried these the first time just in a skillet on the stove top, but the second time I brought out the big guns – my deep fryer – and made a big batch. Either way, they fry up quickly and aren’t messy to make, like something that is battered and then fried would be.

Fried Cinnamon Sugar Tortillas

corn tortillas (I have friends who use flour – I use corn to keep them gluten-free)

vegetable oil

cinnamon sugar

Pour vegetable oil into skillet – no more than an inch or so deep.  Heat over medium/high heat.  Cut tortilla chips into wedges or strips.  Fry in batches in the hot oil, turning once, until crisp.  Remove from pan to spread out paper towels or a brown paper bag.  Shake a good amount of cinnamon and sugar mixture over the chips. Turn and coat the other side with cinnamon and sugar.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2013 4:38 pm

    They are called Bunuelos…made a mistake at work and came up with this idea. Got home to see if they actually already existed and they obviously do!

Leave a Reply

