Skip to content

Iced Coffee

July 18, 2011

If you google around the internet, looking for recipes for iced coffee, you’ll find a million variations, many of them containing a bunch of steps.  A lot of them involve cold pressing the coffee first.  My parents first had iced coffee several years ago, thanks to a lovely Australian friend whose recipe, if I remember correctly (I think I was still in diapers) involved a long process and several ingredients, including ice cream.  Delicious, yes?  Pain in the butt to make?  Absolutely. Some people are coffee aficionados and have a huge appreciation for recipes that involve many steps.  I am not one of those people.

My iced coffee is what I call a “cheater recipe.”  It tastes great, but involves far fewer steps than many other versions (Rhubarb jello jam is another great cheater recipe; so is dulce de leche – which is also very good stirred into coffee, too, by the way).  I’m not willing to cheat on just any old recipe – it has to be a good cheater  – but I’m always happy to save a little time and energy wherever I can. I’m only one woman, you know?

Iced Coffee

8 cups brewed coffee

1/2 can sweetened condensed milk (the fat-free version works just great with this)

Combine coffee and condensed milk to taste and refrigerate. Pour over ice  and serve.

Most of the recipes I’ve found for this called for a whole can of sweetened condensed milk. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, so I use less.  Again, adjust to suit your own tastes (my all time favorite “to taste” recipe is my friend, Carolyn’s, French Onion Soup recipe, which says to “add wine, to taste.”  Smart girl, that Carolyn!)  If you’re not pressed for time, freeze some of this ahead in ice-cube trays so your iced coffee doesn’t become diluted as the ice melts.  This is an easy recipe to make ahead when you’re already working in the kitchen, so you can pull it out when the coffee mood strikes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 8:26 am

    We make our coffee using an Italian stovetop espresso maker. Then mix in an equal amount of hot water. When I want iced coffee I just switch that to icewater, and add a scoop of ice cream – instant iced coffee!

  2. bonnyclark permalink*
    July 19, 2011 3:57 pm

    smart girl, Kerry! yum!

Leave a Reply

